Q & A with Evelyn Bedoya Gomez, Miss Teen New York Latina

6 Mar

  • First & Last Name: Evelyn Bedoya Gomez
  • Age: 17
  • Grade Level: 12th grade (Martin Luther High School in Maspeth New York)
  • Support Miss Teen New York Latina, like Evelyn’s Facebook page!
  • Where did you grow up?

I grew up and was raised in Colombia, at the age of 9 I came to live here in New York City the city of my dreams!

  • Who are your top recording artists right now?

Although I don’t have a favorite artist, I enjoy listening to Adele’s music.  I think anyone can relate to any of her songs, every lyric has a very powerful meaning.

  • What are you looking forward to the most for Prom Night?

I am looking forward to making unforgettable memories. It will be the last night I will be spending with friends that have been part of my daily life for four years and that I might not be able to see as often when we graduate, so I’m looking forward to having a great time, laughs and joy that night.

  • What are your future plans?

I plan on attending college and majoring in International Business. As I pursue my career I also plan to continue with modeling and hope to travel a lot.

  • What made you try out for this Pageant?

I’ve always enjoyed modeling. After graduating from Barbizon school of Acting and Modeling, I was even more fascinated with it especially with the encouragement of my friends and family so I began to dedicate more time and effort into photo shoots. Although I had no idea what it was like to be in a pageant, when my friend told me about the Miss New York Latina pageant, I loved the thought of being able to represent my heritage and decided to go for it.

  • Do you have a favorite memory from the Pageant?

Yes, apart from the unforgettable friendships I made with the other contestants, I will never forget the moment they announced me as the new Miss Teen NY Latina. I will not forget the look in my mother’s face nor will I forget how much my friends cheered for me, they all lost their voices. It was one of the most magical moments of my life. Throughout my reign I have learned so much and experienced so many things I never imagined doing, and all of this has mainly taught me to always take advantage of any opportunity that comes in your way because you never know how wonderful it can turn out to be.

  • What advice would you give girls your age on “following their dreams?”

My parents always told me that mental strength will always trump physical power.  It took me a while to realize this but when you work hard and think positive, good things will always go your way, and this is my advice to every girl out there that has ever felt hopeless at some point in their lives. There will be days when you feel like your life  is falling apart or that you are not getting anywhere but trust me there is always HOPE and, as long as you believe you can achieve something–with all of your heart it will happen. I’ve always lived by this quote by my favorite author Paulo Coelho:  “When you really want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it” and it gives me a lot of motivation. It is amazing what you can do when you try…trust me!

Support Miss Teen New York Latina! Like Evelyn on her Facebook!

Leave a Reply

