Q & A with Samantha Head, America’s Miss National Teenager 2012

24 Jan

First headshot after being crowned queen!

We recently had a chance to speak with the 2012 MissNational Teenager 2012, Samantha Head.  Samantha is currently a freshman at the University of Florida and is studying environmental engineering. She hopes her degree will allow her to open a children’s environmental camp in the future. Just like most teenagers she enjoys meeting new people, tie-dying, photography and making people laugh. Read more about Samantha below and look for her in May representing America in the international teen competition!

 

  • Name: Samantha Head
  • Age: 18
  • Hometown: Gainesville, Florida (Home of the Gators!)
  • Grade Level: Freshman at the University of Florida
  • Have you already attended the Prom?

I attended prom both my junior and senior year of high school. Both years were a lot of fun but also very different. My junior year I just went with my boyfriend. We went out to dinner together and drove in his car to prom. We also left a little bit early, got ice cream, and watched a movie in our dressy clothes. It was great. The next year, we went to dinner at our friends house with 40 other of our closest friends. We had a blast that year because everything was for fun. Their parents made ALL of us a four course meal and even made little “Prom 2011” bibs that we could use so that our clothes wouldn’t get messy. It’s also a cute little keepsake. We all went in separate cars but after prom, we crowded a Steak n’ Shake and stayed up until 3 am drinking milkshakes and just hanging out.

Samantha and some friends before prom!

  • What is your favorite Prom memory?

I think my favorite memory of Prom was being with 40 of my closest friends just having fun and being silly. None of us wanted to forget the night and if we had been drinking, we wouldn’t have been able to enjoy each other the way we enjoy each other every other day. It’s also pretty great to think back to Steak n’ Shake and remember all of the jokes we had. It was a great way to end senior year.

  • What made you try out for this Pageant?

Originally, I was looking for scholarship money for college. I had never done a pageant before, so I was a little hesitant at first to get into it. But after a while, it became less about the money and more about proving to myself that I could do it. When I found America’s National Teenager, I was absolutely ecstatic. Here is an organization that prides itself on rewarding girls like me who excel in academics, have a passion for community service, and who love being a leader. It was the perfect fit! I was appointed Miss Florida and went on to compete nationally this past summer in Miami against girls from all over the nation. I went in to the experience with an open mind and not very high expectations. All I knew is that I would be myself and soak up everything about the experience. Nationals week was absolutely incredible. I was able to meet intelligent, caring girls who had the same goals in life as me. I knew that if I didn’t win, I would still have grown so much from the experience and become an even better version of myself. When I won, I couldn’t believe it. I was literally bawling from utter shock because I had never done it before! It was the greatest feeling to know that people liked me for who I was. I never tried to be something else because at the end of the day, each of us girls had her strengths and weaknesses but we were all so accomplished already. In May, I will be competing internationally and I still can’t believe that I am representing America and this great organization that rewards the REAL girl for being herself.

  • Do you have a favorite memory from the Pageant?

My favorite memory would have to be practicing our choreography for the opening numbers on the beach! We definitely drew a crowd and each of the queens had her crown and sash on. It was so much fun!

Samantha and some other National Teen Contestants at a beach rehearsal!
  •  What advice would you give girls your age on “following their dreams”?

I think that if you have a dream or goal you want to achieve, you should never doubt your own ability. A little over a year ago, I was sitting at home thinking about entering this pageant. Had I kept doubting myself, I would’ve never entered, I would’ve never had the most amazing experience of my life, and I would’ve never won. I think it’s important to try new things because it’s the only way we can grow and develop who we want to be and where we want to go in life. Through my reign as America’s National Teenager, I have met so many different people and done so many different things, that the sky is the limit. You should never be afraid to step out of your comfort zone because life is full of great surprises that are waiting to be discovered. As cheesy as that may sound, it’s so true. 

  • What are some of your go-to beauty products that would be a good recommendation for Prom Night?

For prom AND the pageant, my favorite products were from the Smashbox line of makeup. Sephora carries this line and you can also find it online. Their foundations and powders are lightweight but also give you great coverage. In photos, you almost glow because the makeup has a luminescent quality that brings out your best features. For eyes, you really can’t go wrong with Lashblast by Covergirl. I also like to line them with gel liner (also from Smashbox) and give a smokey eye effect with one of their eye shadow trios that are so simple to apply. Top it all off with some Covergirl lip shine and you’re red carpet ready.

Samantha's crowning moment!

If you’d like to know more about Ms. Head follow her blog or check out her facebook page!!

Leave a Reply

